About The Compilation

As a complement to the annual PDX Pop Now! festival, a compilation album is curated as one-part fundraiser, one-part shameless promoter of Portland musical talents. In its first year—as with the many that have followed – this compilation sold out multiple times over, and received praise from both local and national media outlets.

To date the yearly compilations have sold thousands of copies combined, mostly through local, independent record stores and online sales. Since their inception, they’ve been double-disc affairs featuring about forty new tracks from great Portland bands—large and small.

As a PDX Pop Now! production, the compilation includes a democratic aspect. Music tracks are attained solely through artist submissions, and are then run through a rigorous listening panel comprised of our board members and 100 plus volunteers. After surviving the listening panel, final tracks are then selected with attention to diversity, representation and popularity.

It’s their discerning ears that sift through hundreds of songs to produce a much anticipated amalgam of “PDX pop.” Each album is met with a release concert featuring—you guessed it—Portland artists at a Portland venue, both of which have garnered considerable attention from national media, as well as thousands of plays on college and public/community radio across the country.

The 2014 Compilation

Available to purchase June 10th, 2014 at local retail outlets and online at cdbaby.com. Proceeds from sales of the album go towards funding the festival and our outreach activities.

Get it online from CD Baby, Stream it on Spotify, or pick up the CD at record stores around Portland such as Everyday Music, Jackpot Records, Music Millenium, Tender Loving Empire, and many more!

Track listing:

Disc One

  1. Blouse – No Shelter
  2. Aan – Daylight
  3. tigerface – Leaving (For a While)
  4. Modern Kin – Abandon
  5. Marriage + Cancer – AMEND MEN; AMEN
  6. Charts – Settling Down
  7. Fanno Creek – On My Way
  8. Padre – Spector Spector
  9. Blak Neon – Real World
  10. The Tamed West – Floating
  11. Small Million – Six Feet
  12. Illmaculate – Do Not Disturb
  13. Fringe Class – Protector
  14. New Move – Don’t Wanna Lose
  15. Trio Subtonic – Night Runners
  16. Natasha Kmeto – Idiot Proof
  17. Sea Caves – Stoned In The Road
  18. The Fur Coats – Desperate
  19. Magic Mouth – Mother Lode
  20. Sara Jackson-Holman – River Queen

Disc Two

  1. Bearcubbin’! – Master Cylinder
  2. Hands In – Take Time Enough
  3. Pony Village – Bad Timing
  4. Souvenir Driver – Kiss You Close
  5. Ripley Snell – Steppin’ Out
  6. LEO – Waltz
  7. Morning Ritual – So Cold
  8. Novosti – Gold
  9. Eyelids – I Can’t Be Told
  10. Coma Serfs – Under The Tongue
  11. Honduran – Never Forget (Ben Bratt)
  12. DoublePlusGood – Sometimes
  13. Fault Lines – Just Like My Heart
  14. The Weather Machine – So, What Exactly Does It Say?
  15. Hosannas – Good Medicine
  16. Orquestra Pacifico Tropical – Rio Frio
  17. Grandparents – Pill Spectre
  18. Big Haunt – Bitter Water
  19. Summer Cannibals – Not Your Turn
  20. Genders – Technicolor Vision
  21. Ages and Ages – Over It

Past Years

PDX POP NOW! is a proud recipient of