volunteer! perform!

Thank you to the bands, volunteers, RefugePDX, and our fans for a great festival!

About The Compilation

Buy the CD

As a complement to the annual PDX Pop Now! festival, a compilation album is curated as one-part fundraiser, one-part shameless promoter of Portland musical talents. In its first year—as with the many that have followed – this compilation sold out multiple times over, and received praise from both local and national media outlets.

To date the yearly compilations have sold thousands of copies combined, mostly through local, independent record stores and online sales. Since their inception, they’ve been double-disc affairs featuring about forty new tracks from great Portland bands—large and small.

As a PDX Pop Now! production, the compilation includes a democratic aspect. Music tracks are attained solely through artist submissions, and are then run through a rigorous listening panel comprised of our board members and 100 plus volunteers. After surviving the listening panel, final tracks are then selected with attention to diversity, representation and popularity.

It’s their discerning ears that sift through hundreds of songs to produce a much anticipated amalgam of “PDX pop.” Each album is met with a release concert featuring—you guessed it—Portland artists at a Portland venue, both of which have garnered considerable attention from national media, as well as thousands of plays on college and public/community radio across the country.

The 2011 Compilation

Available for purchase ($8) June 2, 2011 at local retail outlets and online. Proceeds from sales of the album go towards funding the festival and our outreach activities.

Get it online from CD Baby, or at record stores around Portland such as Everyday Music, Jackpot Records, Music Millenium, Tender Loving Empire, and many more!

We hope you like it!

Disc 1

  1. Forbidden Friends – Tiny Hands
  2. the Shivas – Gun In My Pocket**
  3. Cool Nutz – Monster Up
  4. O Bruxo – De Colores
  5. Grouper – Alien Observer
  6. Jared Mees & the Grown Children – Hungry Like a Tiger
  7. Red Fang – Wires
  8. Lovers – Boxer
  9. Alan Singley – Sauvie Island**
  10. Reva DeVito – Baby What You Do to Me
  11. Lost Lander – Cold Feet
  12. Guantanamo Baywatch – Clam Party
  13. Bright Archer – Hidden Systems
  14. Purple & Green – Right Here
  15. Blue Skies for Black Hearts – Majoring in the Arts
  16. Wizard Rifle – Tears Won’t Soften Steel
  17. Jarad Miles – Lazy Old Sun
  18. BOOM! – Onomatopoeia
  19. the Ascetic Junkies – (Don’t) Panic
  20. Death Songs – Wounds**

Disc 2

  1. Viva Voce – Analog Woodland Song
  2. the BellBoys – Somethin’ In My Mind
  3. Headphone Party – Strictly Stuntin’**
  4. Witch Mountain – Veil of the Forgotten
  5. Langhorne Slim & the Law – Past Lives (live)**
  6. Sex Life – I Want You**
  7. Swahili – Soma
  8. Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Thought Ballune
  9. Point Juncture, WA – When You Wake Up It’s Today
  10. the Woodlands – In the Dark on Monday (Heavy Hands Remix)
  11. the angry orts – the Trend**
  12. Quiet Countries – A Teeth Cutting**
  13. Living Proof – Caddy Music
  14. Johnny Reno & the Vicemachine – Be Gorgeous & Be Gone**
  15. Mojave Bird – Roan Wolf**
  16. Blouse – Into Black
  17. On the Stairs – Stand
  18. 1939 Ensemble – Espérer**
  19. Ben Darwish – Under the Bright Red Sky
  20. the Minders – Needle Doll**
  21. Drew Grow – King On Your Throne

**Previously Unreleased Tracks

Past Years

Donate through Give!Guide

Join Our Mailing List

PDX Pop Now! PO Box 14828 Portland, OR 97293-0828 :: All Rights Reserved